Goal: read at least 150 pages a week

So I finished my first book – I’m not sure how I’m going to format these posts yet so I’m winging this one. This book was a part of Waterstone’s 11 which is 11 novels by 11 debut authors from 2011 – so basically books they think are worth reading.

When God was a Rabbit by Sarah Winman

Synopsis (from Amazon): This is a book about a brother and a sister. It’s a book about secrets and starting over, friendship and family, triumph and tragedy, and everything in between. More than anything, it’s a book about love in all its forms.

In a remarkably honest and confident voice, Sarah Winman has written the story of a memorable young heroine, Elly, and her loss of innocence-a magical portrait of growing up and the pull and power of family ties. From Essex and Cornwall to the streets of New York, from 1968 to the events of 9/11, When God Was a Rabbit follows the evolving bond of love and secrets between Elly and her brother Joe, and her increasing concern for an unusual best friend, Jenny Penny, who has secrets of her own. With its wit and humor, engaging characters whose eccentricities are adroitly and sometimes darkly drawn, and its themes of memory and identity, When God Was a Rabbit is a love letter to true friendship and fraternal love.

What I thought
Ok so the past year I’ve been reading a whole bunch of YA novels and pretty dumb easy readings (for example, Pretty Little Liars series, Dexter series etc) so this book was a little different from me. Described as a “dark comedy” the writing and syntax was hard for me to follow because I tend to speed read. The way its written, its from a really personal point of view from the main character, knowing all her weird little thoughts and whats running through her mind. Elly, the main character, is so weird (I think thats why I liked her) and her best friend, Jenny Penny, is even odder. I liked the style of writing but I feel like the book was kinda jumpy going from place to place. And a lot of the events seem FAR FETCHED and meh. Overall, I still enjoyed the book but I didn’t love it. Starting it, I saw the potential but it kinda died out for me.

CURRENTLY STILL READING:
Eat, Pray, Love
Middlesex
Running with Scissors

2 comments

  1. That’s a book that has been on my to be read list for a while now. I think I’ll borrow it from the library instead of buying it.

    Ah, you’re reading Eat, Pray, Love? I loved the Eat part, I wanted to pack my backs and fly to Rome right away but the Pray part? Not so much.

    Good luck with your reading challenge :D

    1. Thank you Kimberley! I’m only still in the first country in Eat, Pray, Love though – I heard the book is great the movie not so great but its taking me awhile to get into the book. I’ll try it again soon though.

Leave a Reply

