Flowers for Algernon

So today was a BEAUTIFUL day. High 50s, pretty blue sky with fluffy clouds, sun shining, slight breeze -I knew I needed a reason to be outside. So I headed over to Hermann Park to go run! Afterwards, I decided to go walk around to a part of the park I’ve never been to before. In high school, I was required to keep an art journal. More or less, it was just a place to keep all my inspirations and the only requirement was that it had to be predominantly visual. I’ve been wanting to keep up with it again, but its hard when you’re never inspired or visually stimulated anymore. So I thought I would just bring my colorful sharpies with me and walk around until I got… well, inspired. It was good “me” time and I enjoyed the weather a lot.

Miller Outdoor Theater

Even though I go to class every day doesn’t mean I’m always paying attention to them. So that means within the past two days I had about 4 to 5 hours of class where I just sat and read my book instead of listening to lecture (oops!). During that time, I managed to finish another book. I read part of this in high school just for class but I never read the whole thing. Its been on my reading list for awhile so I finally got around to it. A fast, easy, and enjoyable read.

Flowers for Algernon by Daniel Keyes

Following his doctor’s instructions, engaging simpleton Charlie Gordon tells his own story in semi-literate “progris riports.” He dimly wants to better himself, but with an IQ of 68 can’t even beat the laboratory mouse Algernon at maze-solving:

I dint feel bad because I watched Algernon and I lernd how to finish the amaze even if it takes me along time.
I dint know mice were so smart.

What I thought
FINALLY got to read this book. Most people I know love it and I usually like most YA required reading books (haha). The book is written in a journal style from Charlie’s point of view. As he writes his progress reports, you are able to see Charlie develop personally as his IQ rises from the operation. Since its only from Charlie’s point of view, there will be parts of the story that seems somewhat incomplete, however it does not play an integral part of the whole entire book. You grow with Charlie as he is the eager “moron” that wants to learn, then becoming so intelligent he becomes unrelatable, to his regression backwards as the operation seems impermanent.

I like how at the beginning of the book, it really seemed like it was reading a journal. Towards the end, it seemed more like a narrative and realistically, most people don’t write like that as a personal journal entry.  You see him grow intellectually, however, emotionally cannot catch up as fast. Over all I enjoyed the book and admit, a tear jerker at some parts.

**Disclaimer** I’m not writing this reviews to be insightful and really dissect the book, I just realize that sometimes I forget what books are about after awhile and this is a way for me to keep track of everything

One comment

Leave a Reply

