The Infamous Momofuku Compost cookies

I am no baker. I feel like baking takes too long and requires too much precision and I don’t have as much freedom of adjusting and changing recipes because I don’t know the outcome until its out of the oven. I hate the lack of control I have when it comes to baking.

But my lovely room mate has been on a baking spree and last night after making my quiches, I have been yearning for something sweet to be in my mouth now. At first I was going to make these strawberry squares because they’re not too bad for you and amazingly delicious, but my whole thing right now is making things I’ve never made before. One thing that I’ve been wanting to make are the infamous Momofuku Compost Cookies which is a bakery based in New York. Also known for their crack pie, I decided on Compost Cookies because I love love sweet and salty things. So I used this recipe from Amateur Gourmet while increasing the amount of flour  to 2 cups and decreasing the baking temperature to 350 degrees. I baked 6 cookies, saw it was too flat and added another tbsp of flour. I also added 5 tea of ground coffee after looking at another version at The Curly Baker.  I used white/milk swirled chocolate chips, Reese’s, and Sour Cream and Onion Ruffles as my mix ins. I made these on a whim because I was bored and it was a rainy day, so I just used things I had around the apartment.

Ingredients:
1 cup butter
1 cup granulated sugar
3/4 cup light brown sugar
1 tea vanilla extract
2 large eggs
2 cups of flour
2 tea baking powder
1 tea baking soda
1 tea Kosher salt
1 1/2 cups your favorite baking ingredients (sweet stuff! e.g. chocolate chips, toffee, butterscotch chips)
1 1/2 cups your favorite snack foods – crushed (chips, pretzels)
5 tea ground coffee

SIG:
1. Cream butter and sugars using a hand or stand mixer on medium speed for 3 to 5 minutes.
2. Add in eggs and vanilla and beat on medium speed for 5 minutes.
3. Switch to low speed and in flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Mix for about a minute until even. Do not over mix.
4. Add in your mix ins and fold in with a spoon or spatula.
5. Refrigerate for at least 2 hours – for best results, refrigerate over night.
6. On a cold cookie sheet, scoop 1 inch balls and bake for 10 minutes at 350 degrees.

And keep in mind, these are flatter than your average cookie.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

