Cauliflower Crust Pizza Recipe (Doughless Pizza Recipe)

I think the reason I’ve been so motivated to cook, read, run, bake etc is the fact that I know I am about to start my hospital rotation so from Mon-Fri I will have a 9 to 5 schedule and probably won’t get home until almost 6. I am growing up and I am terrified. But anyways, yesterday I decided to try out this pizza where the crust is made out of cauliflower. Although it does not taste like dough, nor could I get it as crispy as I wanted to, it still tasted pretty bomb. Aka, I would definitely make this again and my roommate LOVED it (yay)! You can’t even tell you’re eating cauliflower!

I decided to make it low fat as possible, so its just topped with sliced olives, mushrooms, fresh roma tomatoes, red onion, and toasted fennel seeds. If you can, get some fennel seeds – its what gives sausage that certain taste and the aroma is heavenly and makes all the difference. I also made my sauce using a can of tomato sauce and diced tomatoes, but any premade marinara sauce would do too. Recipe adapted from Recipe Girl.

Ingredients:
Crust
1 head of cauliflower – grated
1/2 to 1 cup of shredded mozzarella cheese
1 tea onion salt
1 tbsp fresh chopped parsley
2 cloves of garlic, minced
1 tea dry oregano
2 large eggs

Sauce
1 can of tomato sauce (15 ounces)
1 can of diced tomatoes (14.5 ounces)
8 tea sugar (okay my roommate and I like sweet sauces so you can decrease this)
1 tea salt
1 tea onion powder
1 tea dried oregano
1 tea dried basil

SIG:
1. Cut the stems off and using a cheese grater or blender like the Magic Bullet, “rice” your cauliflower florets and put in microwavable bowl. Not quite a puree though.
2. Mince garlic and mix in with 1 and 1/2 cups of cauliflower (about half the head). Microwave for 8 minutes – no need to add water.
3. Let mixture cool. Add in the rest of the ingredients. (herbs, spices, eggs, and cheese*)
4. On a greased or non stick baking pan, spread the mixture using a spatula. Spread it out pretty thin so it bakes better.
5. Spray cooking oil on top then bake in oven for 10 to 15 minutes at 450 degrees.
6. While its baking, prepare your toppings! I did sliced olives, tomatoes, mushrooms, red onions, and fennel seed. Remember to roast or fry the fennel seed beforehand and cook any meats that you plan on putting on it.
7. For the sauce, just heat and combine. My roommate and I tend to like sweeter tomato sauces, so I would start low and titrate up.
8. Once crust is done, sauce it leaving an 1/2 inch around the edge and top it!
9. If using vegetables like me, I actually let it bake at 400 for another 5 minutes or so to cook it a bit then broil the last minute. Other wise, you can put it on a broil for a couple minutes to let everything heat up and melt.

Tips and Suggestions:
1. The original recipe called for one egg – after making one crust and not liking it as much, I added one more egg since it acts as the coagulant – aka helps everything bind.
2. Original recipe also added in 1 cup of cheese to the crust. Although high in calcium, cheese is also high in calories. Therefore, I reduced the amount of cheese in the crust and saw no difference. If you’re looking out for your calories, omit the cheese all together. OR omit the cheese and just put more cheese on top because I like melty, gooey cheese better anyways.
3. Spread that crust out as thin as possible! The thinner it is, the better it will bake! The first time I made it a little too thick so the second time around everything stuck together a whole lot better.
4. Don’t know what to do with leftover ingredients? I chopped the rest of my onion up and put it in the freezer to use for the future!
5. Your significant other/roommate/kids don’t like the idea of cauliflower and want their carbs? Buy a loaf of french bread and make french bread pizza or buy some tortillas and have super thin crust pizza!

Cut and grate your cauliflower.  Microwave for 8 minutes. Add in spices, herbs, eggs.

Spread the mixture evenly then bake crust for 10 to 15 minutes at 450 degrees.

Honestly, I put in the fresh parsley in the crust because I grow it. It can easily be omitted but look how pretty it looks in the crust

In the spirit of Valentines Day, my pizza was in the shape of a heart.

If made right and you don’t mind a little mess, you can eat it by hand. Though it might be easier with a fork or spoon.

Leave a Reply

