Zucchini, Eggplant and Basil Stuffed Mushrooms

I’ve been doing a lot of vegetarian dishes lately mainly because I’m too lazy to defrost meat and I always eat over the amount of protein I’m suppose to eat. I had leftover tomato sauce from the cauliflower pizza and I knew I wanted to do some type of stuffed portabella mushroom. I didn’t want to do the obvious spinach + cheese stuffed mushroom so I decided to brainstorm what I could put in it. I found an eggplant stuffed mushroom, zucchini stuffed mushroom and I’m like, what the heck, lets combine both! I added a generous amount of fresh basil too because I love love love fresh basil.

I originally was going to use a regular portabella mushroom but decided to portion control it and use baby bellas. I love portabellas because they have this meaty taste which is why its used as a meat alternative all the time. You can easily use button mushrooms if you want to do this as an appetizer but I do love my baby bellas.

This makes for a great entree or appetizer.

Ingredients
1 large portabella mushroom or 4 small baby bella mushrooms (or a 10 oz carton of button mushrooms)
3/4 cup of zucchini – thinly sliced
1/2 cup of eggplant – diced
1/2 roma tomato (or small tomato) – diced
1/2 bell pepper – diced
1/4 cup of cheese (mozzarella)
1/4 cup of bread crumbs
1 tbsp chopped fresh basil
1 tea of salt
1 tea paprika
1 tea onion powder
2 cloves of garlic – roasted
Shredded parmesan to top/garnish
1 cup of premade tomato sauce (I had some leftover from my cauliflower pizza)

SIG:
1. If you’re not lazy, take some time to roast your garlic! Place whole, unpeeled garlic cloves on a greased pan and bake at 425 degrees for 15 minutes. I mean its not necessary, but roasted garlic smells and tastes SO GOOD. Mince after.
2. Thinly slice or grate your zucchini. Place in colander with 1 tea of salt and let drain for about 15 minutes. Use a paper towel to take out extra water.
3. Destem your mushrooms reserve and chop finely. Then using a paper towel, clean the tops of your mushrooms.
4. Heat up a pan with about 1 tea of olive oil. Cook your eggplant, tomatoes, bell peppers, zucchini, mushroom stems and basil. Add in your paprika, onion powder, and garlic.
5. Remove from heat and in a mixing bowel, add in shredded cheese and bread crumbs.
6. Spoon mixture evenly into mushrooms. Sprinkle additional bread crumbs on top (optional)
7. Bake at 375 degrees for 20 minutes.
8. Spoon some tomato sauce on top and if you want, sprinkle some shredded parmesan on top and serve!

Made 4 baby bella mushrooms – I don’t eat much so fed me twice! I will probably double the recipe next time :)

thinly slice or grate your zucchini – add salt and drain in colander

throw everything in a pan – oops didn’t show the tomatoes and bell peppers

take out mixture and add cheese and bread crumbs

destem your mushrooms and scoop in the filling – add some more breadcrumbs on top if you want

bake at 375 degrees for 20 minutes. Take out and add tomato sauce.

So good

One comment

Leave a Reply

