Baked falafals

As much as I love fried foods, I just can’t bring myself to fry many things because 1. Its so much more fattening 2. It takes longer since I don’t own a fryer. So I decided to try out baked falafals! To keep it even healthier, I added less oil than most recipes and used egg white substitutes. I also did not eat this with pita bread and just made lettuce wraps with tomatoes and tzatziki sauce. Although a bit drier than most falafals, I still like them a lot. I tend to slab on the tzatziki sauce anyways so it compensates for the dryness. Also, I didn’t make my own tzatziki, just used a premade one from the store – and its only 35 calories for 2 tbsp! Tzatziki is made out of Greek yogurt and cucumbers so it is a great source of protein too. Overall, a pretty low caloric meal and I would make it again.

But side note, I HAVE been cooking different meats this past week – things I always make with no measurements so I’m just working on measuring and having a set recipe to share  (and one of them, the pictures didn’t turn out pretty enough to make it here lol).

Ingredients
1 can of chick peas
1/2 large onion chopped (~ 1/2 cup)
1/2 cup fresh parsley
2 cloves of garlic – minced
2 egg white equivalents
2 tea cumin
1 tea ground coriander
1 tea salt
1 dash pepper
1 pinch cayennne
1 tea baking powder
2/3 to 1 cup bread crumbs
1 tea oil
olive oil spray

SIG:
1. Drain your chickpeas and empty the entire can into a bowl. Microwave for 30 seconds.
2. Using a masher, mash up the chickpeas until even. You may use a food processor but make sure you do not make a puree- it needs to be a thicker consistency so it doesn’t fall apart.
3. Mix in your spices, onions, parsley, and garlic.
4. Add your egg, bread crumbs, and olive oil.
5. Scoop out your mixture and roll into balls (I used a tbsp measuring spoon) and place on well greased pan.
6. Bake at 425 degrees for 15 minutes. Spray the tops with an oil spray. Bake for 10 more minutes.

Makes about 25 tbsp sized balls at ~25 calories each.

Mash the chick peas by themselves! Then add in other ingredients…

Roll them into balls and place on well greased pan

Bake and ta da

Serve with pita bread, veggies, and tzatziki or tahini sauce

I made mine into lettuce wraps!

2 comments

Leave a Reply

