Butter and Herb tossed Spaghetti Squash

I feel like I’m getting old when

1. People gave me weird looks when we were talking about asparagus being on sale ($1/lb compared to $4/lb!)
2. The highlight of my week was using my electronic heating pad and snuggling in bed
3. Getting upset because I forgot to buy eggs when I was at the grocery store

Anyways, I’ve REALLY been wanting to make Butternut Squash Soup so I went by the store to pick one up. Keep in mind, I’ve never seen one IRL before and I grew up eating only Vietnamese food so all squashes look the same. Somehow, I come home with a Spaghetti Squash instead so while a little sad, I’ve been wanting to make Spaghetti Squash too so it worked out.

I feel like I’ve been eating tomato sauce a lot lately so I decided not to go that route. I also happened to have tons of fresh herbs around so I decided to throw in some butter and call it a day. The smell of fresh herbs is so wonderful and my apartment smells so bomb right now. I’ve really been rampant on doing these veggie dishes, but they’re so good I haven’t been craving meat.

Wait, I know what you’re thinking, what is spaghetti squash????????

Spaghetti squash looks like a normal squash when raw, but after cooked, it will come apart into strands resembling spaghetti.


Picture courtesy of Cookin Canuck

Though it does NOT taste like noodles, it is another great low carb alternative. When cooked correctly, it should still be slightly crunchy and taste great with sauces or anything else that goes with pasta.

Spaghetti squash is SUPER easy to cook – you just cut it in half and throw it in the oven! If you’re lazy, just pour some sauce on top and you are done. For this recipe, all I did was cut up some fresh herbs and throw it in some butter and bam, complete.

Ingredients:
1 small spaghetti squash (about 2 lbs) cut in half length wise
1 cup of fresh herbs of your choice (basil, parsley, rosemary etc)
1/4 to 1/2 stick of butter (depends on your mood! i think 1/4 is enough though)
1/2 onion, chopped
3 cloves of garlic, minced (more if you love garlic, I personally used 6)
2 tbsp of dehydrated sweet bell peppers (or fresh!- the one I used is by Zatarains)
1 tea of salt
1/4 tea ground black pepper
1/2 cup of fresh Parmesan

SIG:
1. Using a spoon, deseed your squash taking out all the strands with it.
2. Cut side faced down, bake at 375 degrees for 35 minutes on a lightly greased pan or until a knife can easily go through the skin.
3. Melt your butter in a pan at a medium heat and add in your onions and garlic.
4. Once onions are transluscent, in all your fresh herbs and seasoning and put on low heat
5. After squash is cooked, let sit at room temperature for 10 minutes or where its cool enough to handle. Using a fork, pull up strands of squash.
6. Add in squash to butter and herb mixture at the low heat, then turn off.
7. Add freshly grated Parmesan and mix in!

chopped herbs, butter, sautee yum

add in the squash

One comment

  1. My girl and I don’t have much food in the house. I’m waiting to get paid. Until then, we need to eat. The other night, she just tossed some angelhair with olive oil, butter, and herbs. It was delicious! Anyone else have a really simple meal they really enjoy? I’d like some ideas.

Leave a Reply

