Kim Chi and Shrimp Tofu Soup

Oh my dear, I can’t believe its been this long since I’ve updated. IPPE wore me out like a B and I’ve spent the rest of time catching up. Then I had PDC regionals this past weekend and I haven’t quite recovered from it yet. Eternally exhausted :[

Anyways, I’m suppose to be studying right now but instead I dyed my hair back to one color, cooked, and now doing a quick update on my blog :)

This is my first attempt of making anything like this at all so it was pretty decent! Not sure how I would improve it yet – probably add some chopped chives and throw in some type of green veggie but I had to make do with what I had in my fridge. Bare with me, worse directions ever since I need to go study

Ingredients:
1 lb of firm tofu (or soft) pressed and cubed
2 tbsp sesame
1 tea ground ginger
1 clove of garlic, minced
1/4 tea of salt
1/3 tea onion powder
1/3 sugar

3 cups of chicken/beef broth or anchovy
1 cup of water
2 tbsp of Korean spicy paste aka Gochu jang – if you can’t find it, I would substitute with something along the lines of Siracha + honey… but if you can find Kim Chi, you can find this.
2 tbsp of fish sauce
1/2 lb of mushrooms of your choice (shitake would be best but I used white ones since thats what I had) thinly sliced
1/2 lb of shrimp, peeled and deveined
1 cup of kim chi

OK essentially, coat your tofu with the sesame oil, ginger, garlic, salt, onion powder, and sugar. In about a tbsp of oil, stir fry the tofu a bit to get a nice brown. Set aside. Stir fry the shrimp with some butter and set aside.

In a pot, heat up the broth, water, and fish sauce. Once its to a boil, add in the shrimp, kim chi, and tofu. Serve piping hot and crack an egg in it then mix it up – though I think it works better if you crack the egg in the pot so it cooks more. Serve with rice.

EASY DELICIOUS DONE time to study :)

Leave a Reply

