Maple Bacon Cupcakes

It is true, I jumped on the sweet and savory bandwagon combo of bacon goes well with everything. So, I really hate baking. There’s no instant gratification and I get sick of sweets fast. I probably also hate baking because it just never comes out right and I feel like I can’t “wing it” as much. So when Michelle asked me to bake a cake for Marcus’s birthday potluck, I said no because I’m not that great of a baker. But after much thought, I decided to attempt some cupcakes instead! I used this recipe from Vanilla Garlic with very very slight modifications.



Ingredients:
Cake
4 1/2 tbsp butter, room temperature
1/2 tbsp bacon drippings (left in the fridge to become solid)
2 egg, beaten
5 tablespoons brown sugar
4 tablespoons Grade B maple syrup
1 1/4 flour
2 tea baking soda
1/2 tea baking powder
minuscule pinch kosher salt
1/4 cup whole milk
1/4 cup minced bacon, cooked and drained (extra for garnish, if desired)

Maple Frosting
4 tablespoons butter
2 tablespoons Grade B maple syrup
1 cup of powdered sugar

SIG
1. Fry your bacon until super crispy. Drain the fat into a bowl and stick in the freezer to solidfy – should only take about 10 minutes or so if its in the coldest part of your freezer. Crumble your bacon up into small pieces.
2. Beat the bacon drippings with the butter until smooth. Add in maple syrup and brown sugar until smooth.
3. Beat in the two eggs one at a time.
4. Sift all your dry ingredients together (flour, baking powder, baking soda).
5. Add in your dry ingredients a little at a time alternating with the milk until well blended.
6. At this point, kinda taste your batter to see if you want it sweeter. Keep in mind the frosting is super sweet already! Add in a little at a time so you don’t break your batter. Then fold in about 1/3 cup of crumbled bacon.
7. Scoop into your cupcake liners and bake at 350 degrees for 18 to 20 minutes.

The icing!
Beat the butter and syrup together until smooth. Add in the powder sugar a little at a time. BAM DONE. Though, I think next time I might add some whipping cream to make it more fluffy but the butter cream is great with the cupcake.

Leave a Reply

